Orioles' Gunnar Henderson unanimously wins AL Rookie of the Year - BaltimoreBaseball.com

Orioles’ Gunnar Henderson unanimously wins AL Rookie of the Year

Photo Credit: Nathan Ray Seebeck-USA TODAY Sports


Gunnar Henderson was a unanimous choice for American League Rookie of the Year. The Orioles’ 22-year-old infielder received all 30 first-place votes. The announcement was made on Monday.

Cleveland pitcher Tanner Bibee and Boston first baseman Triston Casas finished second and third in the voting.

Henderson is the first Oriole to be named Rookie of the Year since relief pitcher Gregg Olson won it in 1989. Other Orioles who won the award are: shortstop Ron Hansen, 1960; outfielder Curt Blefary, 1965; outfielder Al Bumbry, 1973; first baseman Eddie Murray, 1977; and shortstop Cal Ripken Jr., 1982.

Henderson, who split his time between shortstop and third base, hit .255 with an .814 OPS. His 28 home runs tied Anthony Santander for the team lead, and he had 82 RBIs.

Also receiving votes were Texas third baseman Josh Jung, Houston catcher Yainer Diaz, Red Sox outfielder Masataka Yoshida, Minnesota infielder Edouard Julien and New York shortstop Anthony Volpe.

Call for questions: I’ll be answering Orioles’ questions this week. Please email yours to: [email protected]

To Top