No Gold Gloves for O's for first time since 2010 -
Dan Connolly

No Gold Gloves for O’s for first time since 2010


The Orioles failed to keep alive their five-year streak of having at least one Rawlings Gold Glove winner as both third baseman Manny Machado and first baseman Chris Davis were denied the award Tuesday night.

Machado, a two-time winner, and Davis, who has never won a Gold Glove but has been a finalist twice, were the only two Orioles that were named to the Top 3 for baseball’s most recognizable defensive awards.

But neither landed the hardware this time — both losing to Texas Rangers.

Veteran third baseman Adrian Beltre, one of the players Machado studied while making the transition to third base, captured his fifth Gold Glove Award and first since 2012.

Meanwhile, Davis’ former teammate, Rangers’ first baseman Mitch Moreland, won for the first time, topping Davis and three-time winner Eric Hosmer of the Kansas City Royals.

The Orioles previously had at least one Gold Glove winner each season since Matt Wieters and Nick Markakis both won in 2011. Last year was the first time during the streak that the club had just one recipient, Machado.

Machado made just seven errors in 998 innings and 114 games as a third baseman this year, but he also played 45 games (43 starts) at shortstop while J.J. Hardy was injured.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login or Register Here

Leave a Reply

To Top